Not for the first time Ken Springer and Tony McCarthy found themselves 1-2 atop a Bella Vista leaderboard. Last time Ken came out first amidst that insane winning streak of his back in 2015. This time the outcome was in doubt before a rules check. There was enough post round discussion amongst the competitors that an explanation is needed. But first, the results.
|Purse this Round|
|T1||Sat, June 1 :: CTP|
|T2||Sat, June 1 :: Low Net – Major Point System|
|T3||Sat, June 1 :: Skins – Skins Division|
On Hole 18 Tony initiated a search for a lost tee ball to the right in the trees, quickly abandoned the search and returned to the tee. In the meantime a cart girl found Tony’s ball. While many fellow competititors believed that Tony could not play a provisional after initiating a search, that is incorrect. Per 18.3a/2 – “Playing Provisional Ball After Search Has Started Is Allowed.” Tony finished the hole with the original ball and also proceeded to complete the hole with the provisional ball as recommended by a playing competitor and also as recommended in the GTGP Local Rules. “If there is a question over a ruling, and a player is in doubt as to how to proceed he should ask for his fellow competitors to resolve. If an issue remains unresolved the player may play two balls to complete the hole as per Rule 20.1c(3). A ruling will be provided at the scoring table.”
If the situation required a rules committee ruling then both Tony and Ken would have to recuse from the ruling as they are on the rules committee (same as the board).
PS. Ok I certainly admit good fortune that the rules are now consistent with what I have observed as regular courtesy on GTGP to allow the player to save time by replaying a shot while the rest of the group searched. I did not know of that old rule until this year and since the player was gaining no advantage it’s good that it’s been updated. Apologies for taking people through this but at least we learn in the process. ….Tony